Hair Growth Secrets

Organic foods are not only great for your body, they’re wonderful for the hair. They provide natural humectants, protein, vitamins, amino and fatty acids for strength, moisture retention, and growth. These hair growth tips and recipes are mainly for natural, unprocessed hair that can’t retain moisture for one reason: use of protein ingredients, like eggs or mayonnaise, will leave relaxed or chemically-straightened hair brittle and hard to detangle, like it did to mine when I was growing the processed hair out. A gentler protein alternative to your hair treatment is coconut milk.

Also, the key ingredients like avocado and apple cider vinegar are essential! First used by the ancient Egyptians, the high levels of Vitamin B and E in avocado work to promote hair growth by repairing damage and strengthening the strands. The acidity of apple cider vinegar is close to that of natural hair, which makes it a great cleanser, conditioner, and bacteria-fighter.

My Natural Cleansing Deep Conditioner

Ingredients:avocado-mask

  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cup cool water
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp aloe vera gel
  • 2 tbsp organic honey
  • 1 overripe banana
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Customize it however you like; add as much or as little of the ingredients.

Note: The mixture should last two to three more weekly deep condition/co-washes. Place in air-tight Tupperware and refrigerate leftovers for next time!

Place a shower cap over your hair and let the conditioner sit for 30 minutes, rinse with lukewarm water, towel or t-shirt dry (pat head cautiously if you do not have a micro-fiber towel), then condition the hair with sulfate and paraben-free rinse out conditioner for as long as the bottle’s instructions insists (I use Suave Professionals Almond + Shea Butter Conditioner)

 Should you shampoo your hair after? If you prefer, you can with a gentle sulfate and paraben-free shampoo, then proceed to regular conditioning.

Once that’s rinsed out, I do the L.O.C. Method, which stands for Liquids (leave-in conditioners), Oil (I prefer a light touch of coconut oil), and Cream (or butter– preferably whipped shea butter).

My hair remains moisturized up to 48 hours. When I feel or see dryness, I just dampen with water from a spray bottle, seal with whipped shea butter, and style. Before bed, I apply my hair growth “serum” to the scalp, rub it in, flat twist my hair down, and protect with a silk scarf or bonnet.

The serum is a mixture of essential oils that are guaranteed to penetrate my follicles and get the blood flowing which results in health hair growth.

My Hair Growth “Serum”Herbal Essence Dropper

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp Rosemary Oil
  • 4 tbsp Tea Tree Oil
  • 4 tbsp Jojoba Oil
  • 4 tbsp Jamaican Black Castor Oil
  • 4 tbsp Raw Coconut Oil

More Tips:

  1. Be gentle when you detangle your hair! Rough combing delays hair growth.
  2. Try to avoid using a blow dryer or flat iron. Your hair won’t be at risk for heat damage, loss of moisture, or breakage.
  3. Less hair manipulation equals growth

Hair grows an average of 1/2 an inch per month and thanks to my regimen, mine is growing right on schedule! As of today, my strands are thicker and stronger than it was when I started these treatments. It’s very important to have patience! In no time, you will experience very little breakage which will lead to inches of healthy hair.

How come I don’t use the trending “HairFinity” or Biotin supplements for rapid hair growth? 

I’ve tried biotin 2 years ago for 2 weeks. My nails grew quickly, my hair stayed the same, my face was swarmed with acne. It wasn’t even a mild case; I had large pimples along my chin and forehead.  As soon as I stopped, they cleared up. I feel like HairFinity will cause the same effect so I don’t wish to try it.

Tell me your hair care secrets! and if you have questions, comment below. 

Leave a Reply

